School Board

Marmion Primary School Board

As an Independent Public School, Marmion Primary’s School Board has a strategic role of setting the long-term direction for the school and maintains oversight (not management) of the School Business Plan.

The School Board:

  • contributes to the School Delivery and Performance Agreement and the Business Plan;
  • endorses and reviews the annual budget; reviews the performance of the school;
  • liaises with the P&C

The School Board does not:

  • run the day to day operations of the school;
  • discuss individual issues relating to teachers, staff or parents;
  • represent specific interest groups, or permit special interest to dominate meetings;
  • intervene in the educational instruction of students; nor
  • performance manage the principal or any other staff member.

It is not about running the school – that is the job of the Principal – but rather, providing additional expertise to help the school achieve the best outcomes for students. The role of the School Council (board) is outlined in the Education Act 1999. All MPS community members are welcome to attend the meetings in an observational capacity.

Board Members – left to right
Back row – Ken Aitchison, Aled Cunnah, Amy Aldous (Board Chair), Paul Volk
Front row – Cathy Light, Melissa Engelke, Lisa Anza, Nathan Jessup.

School Representatives:

  • Principal – Mr Bill Boylan
  • Deputy Principals – Mrs Louise Mason & Miss Kylie Harris
  • Teacher representatives – Mrs Nicole Dhue & Mrs Stacey Tebbenhoff

Providing a nurturing, inclusive and
safe learning environment for all.